Country Uganda


Land locked country of East Africa bordered by Sudan on the N, and clockwise by Kenya, Tanzania, Rwand a, and the Congo. Uganda’s early history is only vaguely known, but it appears that a Bantu civilization ruled by Cwezi kings was overthrown by northern Luo Nilotic invaders c. a.d. 1500. The Luo became assimilated into the Bantu culture and founded the major Ugandan kingdoms of Ankole, Buganda, and Bunyoro. Buganda quickly ousted Bunyoro as the dominant state and built up a substantial governmental bureaucracy. In the late 19th century European interests in Uganda were dominated by a fierce struggle between existing Muslim interests, and Catholic and Protestant missionaries. A series of massacres and three-cornered religious wars was ended by 1893 when the British Imperial East Africa Company sent a military force to take control. That same year Great Britain assumed control from the company and by 1901 had made Ankole, Bunyoro, and Buganda British protectorates.

In 1901 Lake Victoria was reached by the Kenya- Uganda railway, and the country was opened up to commercial development. Cotton was introduced and quickly made the colony self-supporting. Much of Uganda’s land was taken by European settlers, but in the aftermath of the Great Depression of the 1930s African farmers regained control of much of the productive cropland . Coffee became the most important crop, and Buganda prospered as its major supplier.

After World War II Great Britain began to deal with the question of Ugandan nationalism. Buganda pressed for independence from the rest of Uganda, making the formation of a new country difficult. In 1962 independence was finally achieved by Uganda, with Buganda retaining semiautonomous privileges. In 1966 Prime Minister Milton Obote, the leader of the nationalist movement who became the new president, imposed a new constitution repealing Buganda’s status.

His troops quickly overcame Bugandan resistance.

In 1971 Obote was overthrown by the army, led by General Idi Amin. Amin assumed dictatorial powers and mercilessly initiated an erratic reign of terror that by 1977 had resulted in an estimated 300,000 deaths. In 1978 President Nyerere of Tanzania invaded Uganda with the general sympathy of most of Africa.

Libya alone supported Amin, and he fled there in 1979 when Kampala, the capital, fell to Tanzanian troops. Uganda’s government was restored to civilian opponents of Amin’s regime. In 1980 a military coup overthrew the second civilian government to hold office in a single year. The country was devastated, the countryside depopulated, its agriculture, economic life, urban centers, and infrastructure in a shambles.

Tanzania left an occupation force in Uganda that looted Kampala. After a short time Obote returned to power and civil war followed. In the early 1980s, approximately 200,000 Ugandans sought refuge in neighboring Rwand a, Congo, and Sudan. In 1985 a military coup deposed Obote, and Lieutenant General Tito Okello became head of state. In 1986 the National Resistance Army took Kampala in 1986, and its leader, Yoweri Museveni, became the new president. He instituted a series of measures, including cutbacks in the civil service and army and privatization of state-owned companies. The economy started to recover. In 1987, former government soldiers unsuccessfully attacked the government forces.

AIDS reached epidemic proportions in the country in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

Ugandan troops fought rebels based in the Sudan as well as backing rebel groups in the Congo against the Kabila regime and fighting with Rwand an forces in the Congo. A referendum on Museveni’s antipolitical party policy was affirmed and Museveni reelected in spite of reported vote fraud.

Uganda Images


Uganda: Top Cities

Kampala 1,353,189 Kampala District 32.58 x 0.32 Africa/Kampala
Gulu 146,858 Gulu District 32.31 x 2.77 Africa/Kampala
Lira 119,323 Lira District 32.91 x 2.24 Africa/Kampala
Mbarara 97,500 Mbarara District 30.65 x-0.61 Africa/Kampala
Jinja 93,061 Jinja District 33.20 x 0.44 Africa/Kampala
Bwizibwera 79,157 Mbarara District 30.63 x-0.59 Africa/Kampala
Mbale 76,493 Mbale District 34.18 x 1.08 Africa/Kampala
Mukono 67,290 Mukono District 32.76 x 0.35 Africa/Kampala
Kasese 67,269 Kasese District 30.08 x 0.18 Africa/Kampala
Masaka 65,373 Masaka District 31.73 x-0.33 Africa/Kampala
Entebbe 62,969 Wakiso District 32.45 x 0.06 Africa/Kampala
Njeru 61,952 Mukono District 33.17 x 0.42 Africa/Kampala
Kitgum 56,891 Kitgum District 32.89 x 3.28 Africa/Kampala
Soroti 56,400 Soroti District 33.61 x 1.71 Africa/Kampala
Arua 55,585 Arua District 30.93 x 3.02 Africa/Kampala
Iganga 45,024 Iganga District 33.47 x 0.61 Africa/Kampala
Kabale 43,500 Kabale 29.99 x -1.25 Africa/Kampala
Busia 43,200 Busia District 34.08 x 0.45 Africa/Kampala
Fort Portal 42,670 Kabarole District 30.27 x 0.69 Africa/Kampala
Mityana 41,131 Mubende District 32.02 x 0.42 Africa/Kampala
Tororo 40,400 Tororo District 34.18 x 0.68 Africa/Kampala
Hoima 39,625 Hoima District 31.34 x 1.44 Africa/Kampala
Lugazi 35,036 Butambala District 32.92 x 0.38 Africa/Kampala
Masindi 31,486 Masindi District 31.72 x 1.67 Africa/Kampala
Pallisa 30,745 Pallisa District 33.71 x 1.15 Africa/Kampala
Nebbi 30,354 Nebbi District 31.10 x 2.48 Africa/Kampala
Adjumani 28,700 Adjumani District 31.81 x 3.36 Africa/Kampala
Paidha 28,348 30.98 x 2.42 Africa/Kampala
Luwero 28,338 Luwero District 32.47 x 0.85 Africa/Kampala
Wobulenzi 24,415 Luwero District 32.51 x 0.73 Africa/Kampala