Country Gabon


African republic, on the equator, bordered to the W by the Atlantic Ocean, and clockwise by Equatorial Guinea and Cameroon to the N and the Congo Republic to the E and S. The coastline of Gabon was first explored by Portugal in the 15th century, but the equatorial jungle made the interior an unreachable and unattractive prospect for colonization. In the middle of the 19th century France began to expand its colonial dominion in the region and founded Libreville, the capital, in 1849. In 1890 Gabon was officially incorporated into the French Congo. Twenty years later it became a distinct colony of French Equatorial Africa.

The French exploited the tropical hardwoods of Gabon, but the country became more famous for the medical mission at Lambarene founded by the Swiss doctor Albert Schweitzer in 1913. In 1958 Gabon became a republic and a member of the French Community and in 1960 achieved full independence. Gabon was spared the poverty and disruption that have plagued many of the newly emerging African nations; the discovery of immense deposits of manganese, iron ore, uranium, and oil has enriched it. Gabon’s explorations for these and the continued profitable export of tropical hardwoods has made the country economically robust. It has the highest per capita income in Africa due to its rich oil reserves and low population. Omar Bongo has held power since 1968, although opposition parties have been legal in the country since 1990.

Gabon Images


Gabon: Top Cities

Libreville 578,156 Province de l' Estuaire 9.45 x 0.38 Africa/Libreville
Port-Gentil 109,163 Province de l' Ogooue-Maritime 8.78 x-0.72 Africa/Libreville
Franceville 42,967 Province du Haut-Ogooue 13.58 x -1.63 Africa/Libreville
Oyem 30,870 Province du Woleu-Ntem 11.58 x 1.60 Africa/Libreville
Moand a 30,151 Province du Haut-Ogooue 13.22 x -1.56 Africa/Libreville
Mouila 22,469 Province de la Ngounie 11.06 x -1.86 Africa/Libreville
Lambarene 20,714 Province du Moyen-Ogooue 10.22 x-0.70 Africa/Libreville
Tchibanga 19,365 Province de la Nyanga 11.03 x -2.85 Africa/Libreville
Koulamoutou 16,222 Province de l' Ogooue-Lolo 12.47 x -1.13 Africa/Libreville
Makokou 13,571 Province de l' Ogooue-Ivindo 12.86 x 0.57 Africa/Libreville
Bitam 10,297 Province du Woleu-Ntem 11.50 x 2.08 Africa/Libreville
Gamba 9,928 Province de l' Ogooue-Maritime 10.00 x -2.65 Africa/Libreville
Mounana 8,780 Province du Haut-Ogooue 13.16 x -1.41 Africa/Libreville
Ntoum 8,569 Province de l' Estuaire 9.78 x 0.38 Africa/Libreville
Lastoursville 8,340 Province de l' Ogooue-Lolo 12.78 x-0.83 Africa/Libreville
Okondja 7,155 Province du Haut-Ogooue 13.68 x-0.65 Africa/Libreville
Ndende 6,200 Province de la Ngounie 11.36 x -2.40 Africa/Libreville
Booue 5,787 Province de l' Ogooue-Ivindo 11.94 x-0.09 Africa/Libreville
Fougamou 5,649 Province de la Ngounie 10.59 x -1.21 Africa/Libreville
Ndjole 5,098 Province du Moyen-Ogooue 10.75 x-0.18 Africa/Libreville
Mbigou 4,134 Province de la Ngounie 11.91 x -1.90 Africa/Libreville
Mayumba 3,996 Province de la Nyanga 10.66 x -3.43 Africa/Libreville
Mitzic 3,886 Province du Woleu-Ntem 11.55 x 0.78 Africa/Libreville
Lekoni 3,583 Province du Haut-Ogooue 14.26 x -1.58 Africa/Libreville
Mimongo 3,307 Province de la Ngounie 11.61 x -1.62 Africa/Libreville
Omboue 1,667 Province de l' Ogooue-Maritime 9.26 x -1.57 Africa/Libreville
Cocobeach 1,653 Province de l' Estuaire 9.58 x 1.00 Africa/Libreville